The Bestseller Forums

Get feedback, ask questions, find answers

Home Forums Introduce Yourself Introduce Yourself Reply To: Introduce Yourself

Chris Lowenstein

September 2, 2020 at 6:21 am

Hello Academates,

My name is Chris Lowenstein and I live in San Mateo, California, USA, about 30 minutes south of San Francisco.

I like to read all kinds of things. I tend to become an enthusiast of a particular genre and then take a deep dive into that genre for a year or more at a time. I love historical fiction, nonfiction books about books (I’m an antiquarian bookseller, so those sorts of books tend to be work research), spy novels, and books about football (I am also an English teacher at an all-boys high school and my students have, over time, made me a football fan). During the school year, much of my time is spent reading and critiquing my students’ academic writing. My summers are often spent researching the past for my antiquarian book business.

It’s hard to name just a few favorite authors. Once I find an author I like, I tend to read multiple books by that author. Since I have to read “serious literature” during the school year, when I’m not in school, I like to read everything from popular authors like Jane Austen to Mario Puzo to Stephen King. I don’t read much fantasy or science fiction, but I was fascinated by Neal Stephenson’s book Cryptonomicon, and I admire J.R.R. Tolkien’s linguistic prowess. As a young girl, I loved and re-read many times the books of Laura Ingalls Wilder. I’ve just started a book called Paris Never Leaves You by Ellen Feldman. The thrillers of Robert Dugoni are also enjoyable. During the school year, I’m always re-reading the authors I teach — everyone from Benjamin Franklin to Frederick Douglass to Mark Twain to Sophocles and Shakespeare (Macbeth and Othello) to Mary Shelley to modern authors Jon Krakauer and August Wilson and others.